About KitchenLab

Hi, I'm Kristen.  You want to know more about me, huh?  Ok, here goes...

I'm an American living in the UK.  I came here to do science, and really love my adoptive home.  If I had to move back to the States, I would cry.  I would curl up into a ball and get mad at the world.  I love it here.  Happiness.

That picture is of me at a truffle-making class & chocolate expo.  I am excited and weird.  This applies to chocolate and also to life in general.

So, I have a blog about cooking and baking.  I'm also a scientist.  You'll also occasionally catch me talking about my former life in the business world.  Weird, right?  Here's the story: I went to college, got myself a business degree and worked for a company that offered great health benefits and paid vacation time.  I had a fancy loft apartment in downtown Atlanta.  I loved that life until I was about 26.  Then, I realised how much I hated it.  Funny how that happens.  While I had done everything in life that I was supposed to do, and my life was perfectly live-able... I was utterly bored.

So after two years of planning, preparation, and a big bottle of antacids, I quit my job and left for a new life as a grad student in England (because really, if you're going to change your life, you might as well move to another continent). Now, two years later, I'm living in Scotland, I'm working on my PhD, and I'm so happy I make myself sick sometimes. It happens.

It wasn't easy, but it's been entirely worth it.  Life is pretty awesome.  I get to do something every day that I'm passionate about.  I get to live in an amazing place.  And as it turns out, academics love cakes and cookies (here: biscuits) just as much, if not more, than bosses.


Bonus extras!:

My flavour of science is evolutionary psychology. It's mostly like studying animal behaviour, but with humans. It's the bee's knees.

A world without whole milk and salted butter is not a world I want to live in.

I turned 30, and it was awesome! I think people who want to be teenagers again are out of their freakin' minds, because being a grown-up is seriously good stuff.

I went to Greece, and it was everything I'd hoped it would be. Maybe I ate my weight in Greek yogurt. Whatever. I'd do it again!

My boyfriend and I live in Edinburgh. He is a handsome Scotsman, and together we are silly and happy. We sing a lot. I often laugh until tears squirt out of my face.

I believe that Mexican food is extremely under-appreciated. The real stuff, I mean... not that crap you get in chain restaurants. Please.

My camera is a Canon EOS 400D, and I currently shoot with the standard 18-55mm lens. I'm still learning how to use DSLR so hopefully my photos will get better with time.  Previously, I used a really old one that did a great job, but was sort of embarassing to be seen with.  It was a Kodak Z7590 that my mom bought when I was in undergrad (an amazingly long time ago).